American Boy

Matthew Alexander

Powerful contemporary folk music with stripped down acoustic guitar and vocal sound



Matthew Alexander has been playing guitar since he was eight years old and writing songs since he was fifteen. His unique finger picking acoustic guitar style was modeled after Dave Van Ronk and Mississippi John Hurt. His award winning songwriting style has been influenced by such greats as Gordon Lightfoot, Bob Dylan and Paul Simon. His songs have been published by Warner Brothers Music, Beechwood-Capital and Four Star Music among others.

Matthew was part of the dynamic folk music scene in Cambridge, Massachusetts in the late ‘60s and was a regular performer at Boston’s coffeehouses. As a solo artist and as founding member of the folk-trio Moonshine, Matthew opened in the early seventies for Bruce Springsteen, Bonnie Raitt and Billy Joel. Since then he has performed at venues around the country including the New Music Showcase in Atlanta, Georgia; the Ark in Ann Arbor, Michigan; the Troubador and the Songwriters Showcase in Los Angeles, California; and the Double Door and the Latta Plantation Folk Festival in Charlotte, North Carolina. He has won awards for his music from the Northeastern Music Festival and Songwriters Guild of Nashville, Tennessee.

Matthew has released four discs on Caravan Records: Wishing I Had Wings (1987), April Heart (1992), American Boy (1999) and Daredevil Angel (2008). His recordings have received critical acclaim. Mark Price of the Charlotte Observer said that his disc American Boy was, “a breath of fresh air that should have a place in everyone’s record collection”.

Matthew Alexander continues to perform and record in the Southeastern United States. He lives in Charlotte, NC with his wife and two children.

American Boy Released in: 1999 Recorded at: The White Room Produced by: Mike Tate and Matthew Alexander

Synopsis Showcasing a stripped-down acoustic sound, American Boy features Alexander’s warm vocals, unique guitar styling and distinctive songwriting. The disc contains several stand-out selections, including “Another Name in the Stone”, a powerful ballad about loss and redemption; the melancholy “Old Love of Mine”; the crystalline finger picking of the traditional song, “My Creole Belle”; the riveting “White Crystals of Snow” and the title track, co-written with Elaine Wilson-Alexander, “American Boy”, an ode to the loss of identity in contemporary America>

Critical Acclaim

“Alexander was part of the explosive folk-music scene in Cambridge, Mass at the end of the ‘60s and later became a staple of Boston’s coffeehouses. His CD “American Boy’ offers the breath of fresh air we often search for in our album collections but rarely find” Mark Price, music critic, Charlotte Observer

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14